a cup of water – filled

I took my kids to the park and after playing for a bit, we packed up and were getting ready to go home.  My daughter wanted her water, so I gave it to her and noticed it was almost empty.  Our conversation went like this:

let me fill that for you
no
its ok, I just want to fill up your cup
no (tears begin)
Don’t cry, I just want to give you more water
DONT TAKE MY CUP! (hysterical crying)
But I know that you are thirsty and you are almost out of water.
NOOOOOOO!!!
(in a very calm voice)  Maddie, I am not going to take your cup away, I am going right over there to fill it up and bring it right back. (pointing at the place I am going to fill up the cup, which she can see)
ok… (reluctantly)
(I fill up the cup and bring it back full) here you go
thanks, dad! (happy again!)

How often do I hold onto something half full in my life for fear of losing it?  And God the Father comes along and says, I want to give you more.  But, in order to give you more, you have to let go of what you have.  I find myself acting a lot like my 2yo sometimes…

“If God gives such attention to the appearance of wildflowers—most of which are never even seen—don’t you think he’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you? What I’m trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God’s giving. People who don’t know God and the way he works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how he works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.” – Matthew 6:30-33 (The Message)

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” – Matthew 6:33 (TNIV)

3 thoughts on “a cup of water – filled

  1. Love those moments, Matt! God uses my kids all the time to talk to me. I’m definitely just like my 7 & 4 year old A LOT!

  2. That’s a really cool thought, babe! I appreciate your excellence in being a dad, and your deeply spiritual heart that you bring to life, our family, and challenge me with. Love you.

Leave a Reply

