Complete Surrender

Why do I do what I don’t want to do and why can’t I do what I want to do? 

Augustine in his Confessions wrestled with this very fact.   He realized, as did Paul, that "my action did not come from me but from the sinful principle that dwells in me (Rom 7:17)." 

Augustine also realized he cannot do the right thing by himself.  "Why do you try to stand in your own strength and fail?  Cast yourself upon God and have no fear.  He will not shrink away and let you fall."  (Psalm 55:22)

Foster relates to Augustine’s Confessions with this: "We try by sheer willpower to seek the good, but we fail.  We need the transforming power of Jesus Christ alive and present among us."  (Jn 14:15ff)

Have you surrendered your life completely to God, today?  Even in the midst of all the suffering, hardship, unfairness that life has given you, do you choose, today, to give all of it over to God and trust that he will take care of you? 

I find it easy to say "yes."  But then, I take a deep look at my life, moment by moment, action by action and realize, like Paul and Augustine before me, I need Jesus.  I have been a Christian for 20some years, but still, every day I realize I still need Jesus as much, or even more, than I did when I first met him. 

How are you doing with God today?

Song: Great is Thy Faithfulness – Brewster version

The quotes come from the book Devotional Classics edited by Richard Foster and James Bryan Smith. 

Leave a Reply

